1.5 mile

Discussion in 'Health and Fitness' started by aj2307, Dec 20, 2007.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. OK, so i went for a jog this morning, timing myself over 1.5 miles. My time, which i really could have improved if i didn't take my legs complaints so seriously; was 14minutes and 5seconds. should i consider this good as its my first time running 1.5 miles, or beast myself for it?

be honest, no point telling me thats good if its not worth shite
  2. Believe me mate, no one will be telling you it's good, unless you are a female over 50. Even then, it's still not good, just expected.
  3. You'll be wanting to hit 9 mins or so-safe pass, and you can laugh at the knackers coming in after you..
  4. I will tell you lightly, its not too good. But just keep doing it combined with some cross training and you'll piss it soon enough.
  5. Keep doing it 3 times a week minimum and watch the minutes drop off.
  6. Thats not true at all, the required time is dependant on what part of the Army you want to join. For example the Parachute Regiment require sub 9min 40secs whereas other arms only require sub 14 mins.

As for your time of 14mins 5 I wouldn't feel bad about it all, its not a great time by a long shot but you can only improve. I went from 9 mins 51 down to 8mins 34 in 3 weeks :D
  7. To be honest i wouldn't have embarrassed myself by saying it took you 14 mins to run 1.5 mile, ok it all depends how old you are but next time you write in make, i'd make sure i was down to under 10 mins 30 secs.