Army Rumour Service

Register a free account today to join our community
Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site, connect with other members through your own private inbox and will receive smaller adverts!

Resource icon

First Tactical Tactix BDU Pants

My day job is a mixture of time spent behind a desk and outside exposed to the variable UK weather which means that I need clothing that copes well with both. For a number of years, I’ve worn 5.11 Tactical trousers and have been pretty impressed by their durability, comfort and ability to still look relatively smart in all situations.

Earlier this year, I was approached by First Tactical who are owned by the founder of 5.11 Tactical and produce a very similar range of products. This seemed like the ideal opportunity to compare offerings so I’ve been testing a pair of the First Tactical Tactix BDU pants (or trousers in English!) for the past month.

Everything from the name (BDU = Battle Dress Uniform) to marketing photos indicates that these are really aimed at those working in the security industry, police or rescue services. That isn’t currently me although some of the features, such as the rip stop material and good size pockets, are certainly transferable and very welcome. The slightly elasticated waist, comfortable cut, wide belt loops and crotch position make them very comfortable in situations where you need freedom of movement such as climbing, running and kneeling. They’re also great in light rain or splash conditions with small amounts of water being repelled or quickly drying if they get wet.

I can’t say that I’ve used the ability to fit knee pads but that feature is present for those who need it. Similarly, the pockets have internal loops which allow items such as keys or id cards to be easily secured although I’ve not used this.