Camera Recommendation!

Discussion in 'Photography' started by dingerr, Sep 22, 2010.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. dingerr

dingerr LE

I'm a complete novice when it comes to photograpy, but I had loads of decent pictures on my fuji compact camera. That got destroyed in the blast.

Having no thumbs and limited use of the hands I think an SLR is out of reach for me (unless someone can suggest one). What do you think would be a good camera that I could use (even with minor mods).

Thanks in advance.

2. Ravers

Ravers LE Reviewer Book Reviewer

My old man has quite a lightweight Olympus with a built in zoom lens. It's really easy to use with minimal fuss and it takes great pics, might be worth a look. I'll try and find out what model number it is.

3. Oyibo

Oyibo LE

Dingerr,

I bought my wife a Canon G10 (There's a G11 out now). It's an awesome compact camera and, to be honest, often outperforms my SLR. It's probably not the easiest compact if you have limited use of your hands, but I reckon it might be a damn sight easier than many SLRs due to its relatively low weight.

One thing I have noticed having upgraded (after it was nicked) from one Canon SLR to a Guccier version is that the difference in quality becomes more an more difficult to distinguish the higher up the range one goes. In other words, buying the best bit of kit doesn't necessarily make your pictures better.