1. Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

A year to study a Masters Degree and future commission.

Discussion in 'Join the Army - Regular Soldier Recruitment' started by Occams Chainsaw, Jan 5, 2013.

1. Occams Chainsaw

Occams Chainsaw Clanker

Hey guys,

I am looking to join the British Army next year and wanted to ask about a couple of things.
    I am currently studying A Levels and want to join up as a regular soldier initially, following the OPMI(L) route. The LLC can be converted into a BA. I would love to supplement this with a masters degree when possible. Does the Army offer any opportunities to 'take time off' to pursue education? The degree would be relevant to the role in the Int Corps (International Relations). After the Masters I would love to go for Direct Commission as an officer. Is there an efficient way to do this? I guess serving my 4 years and then going for the masters and re-enlisting as an officer would be one option. I was wondering if there was a way to do it in a slightly shorter time span though.

Any help would be much appreciated.

Many thanks,

Sean.
  2. brave-coward

brave-coward Clanker MiA (Donor)

If I understand you correctly, you intend to do a first degree, then join the army for four years, leave to do a masters and then go to Sandhurst. If this is correct you may need to consider whether you will still be young enough to go to Sandhurst following your masters degree. I forget what the maximum age is, but I suspect you may be close to it by the time you have done all that.

A better option might be to do the masters degree straight after your first three years of university and then join the army after that, either through Sandhurst direct (if you pass AOSB, etc.) or as a soldier with a view to commissioning through either the DE or LE routes further down the line.